Why Hikaru Nakamura will win 2017 FIDE Grand Prix (12th-21st May Moscow, Russia)

Lately I’ve been distracted from studying this free book by John Bartholomew on the 1.d4 opening by the FIDE Grand Prix, after all, one of my favorite players is taking part so I am trying to watch most games. Hikaru!!!

Hikaru Nakamura is an American chess grandmaster who has been ranked among the top two players worldwide by FIDE, and happens to be one of my favorite players. He was born on 9th December 1987 in Hirakata, Japan. When he was two years old, he moved with his mother and his brother to the United States where he began playing chess at the age of 7.

In January 2011, Hikaru won the prestigious Tata Steel Invitational in Netherlands. From the date he earned his grandmaster title, he has been a regular participant in many chess tournaments around the world. He has posted victories against Grandmaster Vladimir Kramnik of Russia and grandmaster Viswanathan Anand of India.

In short, Hikaru is well known as the best blitz player as well as the best at bullet chess. He is simply awesome. In 2009, he defeated Magnus Carlsen in a four game match during the finals of BNBank Blitz challenge which took place in Oslo.

He is a four time United States champion having won the title in 2005, 2009, 2012 and 2015.

The fact that he is rated number one in the United States and number two worldwide gives him high probability of winning 2017 FIDE Grand Prix.

For now though, Hou Yifan a female player from China leads after winning the first round of the FIDE Grand Prix by defeating Ian Nepomniachtchi with the black pieces. The following are standings after round one. Come on Hikaru, you can do it! 🙂





1. Hou Yifan CHN 2652 1,0
2. Vachier-Lagrave Maxime FRA 2795 0,5
 3. Nakamura Hikaru USA 2786 0,5
 4. Giri Anish NED 2785 0,5
 5. Ding Liren CHN 2773 0,5
 6. Mamedyarov Shakhriyar AZE 2772 0,5
 7. Svidler Peter RUS 2755 0,5
 8. Grischuk Alexander RUS 2750 0,5
 9. Harikrishna P. IND 2750 0,5
 10. Adams Michael ENG 2747 0,5
 11. Inarkiev Ernesto RUS 2727 0,5
 12. Gelfand Boris ISR 2724 0,5
 13. Radjabov Teimour AZE 2710 0,5
 14. Vallejo Pons Francisco ESP 2710 0,5
 15. Tomashevsky Evgeny RUS 2696 0,5
 16. Salem A.R. Saleh UAE 2633 0,5
 17. Hammer Jon Ludvig NOR 2621 0,5
18 Nepomniachtchi Ian RUS 2751 0,0

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s